Skip to content

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Meet the Board of Directors behind Telkom Kenya's momentum & vision

Telkom is a technology company that provides integrated solutions to individuals, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs), Government and large corporates in Kenya, drawing from a diverse solutions suite that includes voice, data/connectivity, digital financial services, as well as network services.
Chair of the Board

Eddy Njoroge

Eddy Njoroge previously served as the CEO of the Kenya Electricity Generating Company (KenGen), where he spearheaded the transformation of the company from a parastatal to a publicly listed entity.

Eddy has in the recent past served as President of the Union of Producers and Distributors of Electric Power in Africa, President of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), as Chair of the Nairobi Securities Exchange, as well as a board member of CfC Stanbic Bank, Real Insurance Limited, Kenya Pooled Water Fund (KPWF), among other companies.

Most recently, he was elected as a Trustee of the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC), where he also chairs the Audit Committee. He currently serves on other boards including: Telkom Kenya, Corbetti Geothermal Company (Ethiopia), Tanelec Limited (Zambia), Globeleq, IBL Energy Mauritius, Proctor & Allan, and is the Chair of Electricity Sector Association of Kenya (ESAK). He is also a member of the Investment Committee of the Africa Renewable Energy Fund, focusing on renewables in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Eddy is a recipient of several awards honoring his contribution to industry development, including the Ordre National du Mérite from the President of France, an EBS and CBS from the Kenyan President.

He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry/Biochemistry from Makerere University, and an MBA in Leadership and Sustainability from the University of Cumbria.

Executive Director and CEO

Mugo Kibati

Mugo Kibati brings a wealth of top-level management experience from both the private and public sectors.

He is an Electrical Engineer and holds a B.Tech (Electrical Engineering) Degree from Moi University (Kenya),a M.Sc. Degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA) and an MBA from George Washington University (USA).

He is the immediate former Group CEO of Sanlam Kenya PLC.His previous roles include serving in the positions of DG at Kenya’s Vision 2030 Secretariat and Group MD/CEO at East African Cables PLC.


Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u, CBS - Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury and Economic Planning

Prior to his current appointment, Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u served as the Executive Director of the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC). He is an associate professor of economics at the University of Nairobi, Kenya, and is a former Governor of the Central Bank of Kenya.

Prof. Ndung’u has been a member of the Global Advisory Council of the World Economic Forum, a visiting fellow of practice at Oxford University’s Blavatnik School of Government, a program specialist at IDRC, and a team leader in macro-modeling at the Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis.

He is also a member of Brookings Africa Growth Initiative, a member of the Advisory Committee of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion that coordinates financial inclusion policies in Africa, Asia, and Latin America, as well as a senior advisor for the UNCDF-based Better Than Cash Alliance.

He holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.


Eng. John Tanui – Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Information, Communications, and the Digital Economy , State Department for ICT and the Digital Economy

Eng. John Tanui is the Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Information, Communications, and the Digital Economy, in charge of the State Department for ICT and the Digital Economy. Eng. Tanui is a professional engineer and manager with over 25 years of experience.

Prior to joining the Ministry, he was the Chief Executive Officer of the Konza Technopolis Development Authority (KoTDA). He has also served as the Deputy Country CEO and Vice President of Huawei Technologies responsible for Kenya, Tanzania, Somalia, and Djibouti, and as the Director of the Technical Service Department in the same organisation.

He has served as a council member of the Institution of Engineers of Kenya (IEK), where he chaired the Industrialisation, Environment and Quality Assurance committee, and also previously served as a committee member for Advocacy, Journal, and Publicity at the same institution. He also served for 6 years as a council member of the Jomo Kenyatta University of Science and Technology.

Previously, he served as the University Council Vice Chair at the Technical University of Kenya, and also as a founding advisory council member of the Presidential Digital Talent Program.

He holds a BTech in Electrical and Communication Engineering from Moi University and an MBA in International Business from the University of Nairobi.


Protus Sigei – Alternate to the Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury and Economic Planning

Protus Sigei has built his career largely within the public sector in Kenya where has worked with the National Treasury and Economic Planning in various capacities over the years. He is currently based in the National Treasury’s Department of Government Investments and Public Enterprises – this being the Department that is responsible for the portfolio of Kenya Government investments in state corporations and private companies.

He is a member of the Society for Benefit-Cost Analysis, a professional society of academics and practitioners, headquartered at the University of Washington. He is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

He holds a BA (Hons) degree in Economics (with Mathematics) from the University of Nairobi, and a Master of Science from the University of York. He is also an alumnus of Queen’s University (Program on Investment Appraisal and Risk Analysis), and INSEAD (Competitive Strategy).

Skip to content